Notes on nails – Mutagen (H)

Here’s one of my favourite / most frustrating nail polishes, Mutagen, but I Love Nail Polish. Favourite because it looks so gorgeous, and frustrating because it’s so very difficult to photograph!!! I’ve tried my best, taken heaps of photos, but in the end I still haven’t managed to capture the full extent of this polish.

Mutagen is both holographic (hence the H) and multichrome… which translates to awesome and impossible to photograph. This is a fantastic combination of finishes, the holographic rainbow is at it’s best in full sun, while multichrome colour changes are best observed in indirect light. With both together, the polish looks great in any light.

mutagen i love nail polish_20140608_114913

mutagen i love nail polish_20140608_114935

Holographic shimmer… it’s stronger in real life!

mutagen i love nail polish_20140608_144444

It’s the multichrome which is the hardest to capture with this polish. Straight on you see a kind of ‘lizard’ green. However, what you can barely see here is a pewter/fawn colour which appears in the centre of the nail, and can grow to encompass the entire nail depending on the angle of the light. It’s my favourite colour in the polish, and it’s very strong, but it’s almost impossible to capture in a photo.

mutagen i love nail polish_20140608_144505

You can see the pewter better here, though it requires this low light photo.

In one direction colour of this polish moves from lizard green, to lime green, to pewter, and even lilac (the lilac seems to be impossible to photograph).

mutagen i love nail polish_20140608_144447

In the other direction the colour gets darker, moving from lizard green, to emerald, to hints of sapphire and then violet.

mutagen i love nail polish_20140609_132407

You can see that violet here, these darker colours only come out at extreme angles, but they’re easier to capture in photos.

I really can’t oversate how much I love this polish, I pull it out every few months at least. I makes me happy :)

As far as I can tell, Mutagen is a dupe of another polish I have, Hey Jude, by Enchanted Polish. (So I basically have two bottles of it!.) Since I Love Nail Polish is easier to get hold of then Enchanted, this could be a good option if Hey Jude is one you’ve been lusting over :)

If you’re looking to pick up this polish, please note that I Love Nail Polish also have a non-holographic version of the colour. For holographicness, make sure you pick the one with the (H).

One thought on “Notes on nails – Mutagen (H)

  1. Pingback: Notes on nails – Kids | forever in fibre

Leave a comment